Penn State earned its fourth consecutive NCAA Division I national wrestling championship on Saturday in front of a sellout crowd at the Chesapeake Energy Arena in Oklahoma City. The Nittany Lions rode gold medal wins by David Taylor and Ed Ruth to overtake Minnesota on the last day of competition and capture the team crown by a final score of 109.5 to 104.

The Golden Gophers, which entered the gold medal round with a slight 2 1/2-point lead, needed victories from Dylan Ness and Tony Nelson to stay ahead of Penn. But both Minnesota wrestlers lost by decision, thereby ending all hopes of a team title.

Host school Oklahoma St. finished third with 96.5 points, while Iowa (78.5) and Edinboro (62.0) rounded out the top 5.

In the individual matches, wrestling fans got a good look at the future of the sport as true freshmen J’den Cox (Missouri) and Jason Tsirtsis (Northwestern) earned gold medals in their first year of collegiate action. Meanwhile, at the other end of the spectrum, Oklahoma St.’s Chris Perry, Iowa’s Tony Ramos, and Penn’s Taylor and Ruth all finished their college careers with NCAA gold.

The 10 NCAA National Championship individual winners and runners-up are as follows:

  • 125: Jesse Delgado (Illinois) def. Nahshon Garrett (Cornell)
  • 133: Tony Ramos (Iowa) def. Tyler Graff (Wisconsin)
  • 141: Logan Stieber (Ohio St.) def. Devin Carter (Va. Tech)
  • 149: Jason Tsirtsis (Northwestern) def. Joshua Kindig (Oklahoma St.)
  • 157: Alex Dieringer (Oklahoma St.) def. Dylan Ness (Minnesota)
  • 165: David Taylor (Penn St.) def. Tyler Caldwell (Oklahoma St.)
  • 174: Chris Perry (Oklahoma St.) def. Andrew Howe (Oklahoma)
  • 184: Ed Ruth (Penn St.) def. Jimmy Sheptock (Maryland)
  • 197: J’den Cox (Mizzou) def. Nick Heflin (Ohio St.)
  • 285: Nick Gwiazdowskil def. Tony Nelson (Minnesota)

Congratulations to all of this year’s individual champions, as well as to the entire Penn State squad. What an amazing season of collegiate wrestling this has been–not only for the athletes but for the fans as well!